Mountain Valley School celebrates Class of 2022


Photos by Mechel Meek A commencement ceremony was held on May 21 for the graduating class of Mountain Valley High School in Saguache.

SAGUACHE — The graduating class of 2022 Mountain Valley High School walked across the stage to the delight of their family and friends on Saturday, May 21.

It was an impressive ceremony with the auxiliary gymnasium decked out for the occasion with signs, balloons and festive lights.

The evening ceremony began with speeches by the superintendent and principal of the high school.

The students held an air of palpable anticipation waiting for their chance to walk across the stage and receive their degree.

The stands and chairs were filled with proud family members from all around the Saguache community.

The motto for the Class of 2022 was a quote by Ralph Waldo Emmerson, "What lies behind us and what lies before us are small matters compared to what lies within us." This was an apt motto for the class as they continued to struggle with interruptions in learning due to the continuing COVID-19 issues.

According to Lacy Reed, Board of Education President, who spoke to the graduating class, “Today is your day of celebration, and your time to move forward. Do not ever fear failure but only fear not trying.”

Before the diplomas were presented, there were speeches by the Valedictorian, Salutatorian and a special speaker, Sgt. First Class Reyes of the Colorado Army National Guard.

The students spoke of their plans, and how much they appreciated their families and community for their support.

After the completion of the speeches, the graduating students went among the crowd of family members and presented them with sunflowers in appreciation of their support.

The students then returned to the stage to receive their degrees. Each student after receiving their degree participated in the time-honored ceremony of moving their tassel from the right to the left side of their cap to signify that they had graduated in a simple but significant ceremony.

The graduates that took part in the ceremony were as follows — Valedictorian Yessenia Vera, Salutatorian Destiny Haphey, Hailey Collins, Gavin Gross, Jase Leyba, and Mercedes Sandoval.